Hector W. Kay was born in Australia, November 1, 1909. After his basic education in Australia, he completed his formal education in 1938 at Springfield College where he received a Masters Degree in Education. It was also here that Hector met and married Katherine Johnson, a Springfield native.  Hector’s early association with prosthetics and prosthetic education began at New York University where he spent the years 1952 through 1965 in the Adult and Child Prosthetic Studies group. During this period, he became intimately associated with the Sub-Committee on Children’s Prosthetic Problems of the Committee on Prosthetics Research and Development of the National Academy of Sciences/National Research Council. He was instrumental in developing the original cooperative clinic group, working very closely with the pioneers in this field: Drs. George T. Aitken, Charles Frantz, Newton McCollough and Claude Lambert. In 1965, he left New York University to join the Committee on Prosthetics Research and Development of the National Academy of Sciences/National Research Council as Assistant Executive Director. Here he continued to coordinate the activities of the Sub-Committee on Children’s Prosthetic Problems. The committee was gradually expanded to cover orthotic problems as well as the prosthetic problems. During this period, Hector also acted as editor of the Interclinic Information Bulletin. The Interclinic Information Bulletin has more recently had a name change to the Journal of the Association of Children’s Prosthetic-Orthotic Clinics. Hector retired from the Committee on Prosthetics Research and Development in 1974, and met a very untimely death on March 31, 1975. He is deeply mourned by all of those who knew him, respected him, and looked to him for advice. No organization owes more to one individual than does the Association of Children’s Prosthetic-Orthotic Clinics. Though founded after his death, ACPOC owes its existence to an organization he nurtured.


3D Printing for Prosthetics and Custom Implants

Ola L.A. Harrysson, PhD

North Carolina State University

Dr. Ola L. A. Harrysson joined the Industrial and Systems Engineering Department at NC State University in Raleigh, North Carolina in 2002 after receiving his Ph.D. in Industrial Engineering from the University of Central Florida in Orlando, Florida. Prior to attending UCF he was born and raised in Sweden and received his bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering from Dala University. He has been conducting research in Additive Manufacturing for over 25 years. His main areas of research are medical application of AM technologies, custom design and fabrication of orthopedic implants, medical device development, and materials development for Direct Metal AM technologies. Dr. Harrysson is the Director of the Center for Additive Manufacturing and Logistics at NCSU. Dr. Harrysson is the Edward P. Fitts Distinguished Professor in the Edward P. Fitts Department of Industrial Engineering. He has affiliated faculty appointments in the Departments of Biomedical Engineering and Material Science and Engineering.


  • 2022 — Ola L.A. Harrysson, PhD
  • 2021 — Stan Sonu, MD, MPH
  • 2020 — Deborah Gaebler-Spira, MD
  • 2019 — Joan E. Edelstein, MA, PT
  • 2017 — Scott Kozin, MD, Philadelphia, PA
  • 2018 — John G. Birch, MD, FRCS(C)
  • 2016 — Melissa Stockwell, CP, Chicago, IL
  • 2015 — Eric P. Neufeld, CPO, FAAOP, Denver, CO and David J. Krupa, CP, Quito, Ecuador
  • 2014 — Lori A. Karol, MD, Dallas, TX
  • 2013 — Terry R. Trammell, MD, Indianapolis, IN
  • 2012 — Ellen M. Raney, MD, Portland, OR
  • 2011 — John H. Bowker, MD, Miami, FL
  • 2010 — Kenneth J. Guidera, MD, Twin Cities, MN
  • 2009 — Sheila Hubbard, OT, PT, Toronto, ON, Canada
  • 2008 — James A. Harder, MD, Alberta, BC, Canada
  • 2007 — John R. Fisk, MD, Springfield, IL
  • 2006 — Randall R. Betz, MD, Philadelphia, PA
  • 2005 — Peter F. Armstrong, MD, Tampa, FL
  • 2004 — Michelle A. James, MD, Sacramento, CA
  • 2003 — Sandra Dukat, Heber City, UT
  • 2002 — Craig W. Heckathorne, MS, Chicago, IL
  • 2001 — Lewis B. Holmes, MD, Houston, TX
  • 2000 — Michael Keith, MD, Banff, AB, Canada
  • 1999 — Hugh G. Watts, MD, St. Pete’s Beach, FL
  • 1998 — Curtis D. Edholm, MD, Grand Rapids, MI
  • 1997 — Michael Lovett, PhD, Dallas, TX
  • 1996 — Michael J. Goldberg, MD, Boston, MA
  • 1995 — Mary Williams Clark, MD, Hershey, PA
  • 1994 — Yosio Setoguchi, MD, Los Angeles, CA
  • 1993 — Robert E. Tooms, MD, Memphis, TN
  • 1992 — N/A
  • 1991 — Charles H. Epps, Jr., MD, Washington, DC
  • 1990 — Leon Kruger, MD, Springfield, MA
  • 1989 — Dudley Childress, PhD, Chicago, IL
  • 1988 — Norman Berger, BS, MS, New York, NY
  • 1987 — R. Merv Letts, MD, FRCS(c), Winnipeg, MB, Canada
  • 1986 — Georg Neff, MD, Tubingen, Germany
  • 1985 — Charles Scott, MD, Wilmington, DE